Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2005.06.01 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive

Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 1 June 2005. 

Putaruru Wins Prebble Cup
Putaruru won gold at Te Aroha on Sunday beating Tirau.  Neither of the teams fancied the silver medal, and I know how gutted Putaruru would have felt if they had lost.  And when Captain Ding finally caught up with the team at the Hog and Hound for a quiet celebratory ale, confirming the final score was a bit of a mission to say the least.  Officially Waikato Golf has it at 10-2, 3-1 up in the foursomes, and a somewhat one sided 7-1 result for the singles.  Congratulations to Tirau in making the final, I think it is a first for both golf clubs and no one can take that away from either team … top effort.  And the final word is … of all the clubs in the Waikato to beat in the final, we think Tirau deserves it the most! 

Putaruru wins Waikato Vets Interclub Final
What a purple patch for Putaruru also winning the Waikato Pennant for 2005.  Played at Lochiel on Monday a week ago, the team of Tony Fitzherbert, Maurice Tricker, Ross Jellard, Hooky Howard, Dieter Drescher and Stu Kensington did the job.  Elder statesmen Tony Fitzherbert was in the team back in 1990 when Putaruru last won the pennant.  Putaruru won with 359 points from Mangakino on 362, and Waitomo 363.  It seems all the South Waikato golf clubs want to knock Putaruru over and we just keep on hitting them out of the park for six!! 

Cordial Invitation to all
On Saturday the 4th from 4.00PM we will be having a quiet celebration at the clubrooms.  We would genuinely love to see some Tirau folk there to have a beer with.  It is open to anyone who can make it, there will be some nibbles, and we will be running Happy hour prices. The reason is … just to celebrate winning the Prebble Cup and the Vets Pennant.  Oh, and I suppose the senior pennant team staying in their division is cause for celebration as well! 

Other Men’s Snippets
The Putaruru senior pennants team thrashed Park International to within an inch of their life’s 6.5 to 2.5.  Park obviously bailed on the round throwing in high handicappers just to field a team.  Putaruru narrowly missed making the play off final on a rain sodden Taumaranui track. 

Congratulations to Ted Ward and Les O’Leary for winning the TTT Trophy, and King Shanly and Ron Hunt winning the flight.  In Saturday’s scramble, Peter Young won division 1 with a nett 68, while Ron Hunt won division 2 with 65. 

Lithgow Draw
The draw is up in the club rooms, and will be published next week.  First round matches will be played on the 11th

Ladies Report
The 3rd Round of the Wills Cup was held at Putaruru last Friday.  Putaruru's team of Irene McIvor, Denise Hunt, Rachel Young, Joy Aitchison Shirley Wood and Neroli Fisher played Matamata winning 68˝ to 39˝. Tirau are still out in front with 186˝, Walton 178 and Putaruru 174˝. 

On Tuesday a good field of 36 ladies played a L.G.U. competition and Patrons Trophy.  0-18 handicap division best scores were Margaret Ranger 76 nett on C/B from Irene McIvor and Denise Hunt.  In the 18.5-30.4 handicap division Vere Hamilton had a nett 74, Raewyn Hoole 75 and Joy Aitchison 76.  And in the 30.4 - 40.4 division Margaret Karl had 74, Jeanette Burton 82 and Betty Swanson 83. 

The 9 hole ladies played a fun competition where the winner of the day was the player who had the least number of shots on the 2 par threes.  The winner was Ethne Dodd, 2nd Cecily Duxfield and 3rd Dulcie McLean. 

Thursday Vets saw a smaller than usual field with Gary Urbahn scoring 38 points and Stu Kensington 37 on a C/B from Tony Fitzherbert. In the Ladies scramble Florence Jellard had 32 points and Cheryl Jones 29. 

Coming up …
This weekend has 2 scrambles for the long weekend on Saturday and Monday … Good golfing from Captain Ding!

Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC