Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2005.06.29 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive

Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 29 June 2005. 

Men's Report
The Grayburn Ross & Partners sponsored Mid Winter Christmas Open Tournament suffered the icy blast of a sullen winter’s day.  57 braved the trying conditions, but as it turned out the day was far more hospitable than what was offered to the Lions and supporters in Christchurch.  We had 18 visitors thoroughly enjoy the day and our hospitality, which is a bit of an indictment on the locals who shunned the tournament. 

The Ladies results had Cheryl Jones winning the nett with 72, runner up Margaret Ranger on 74.  The gross winner was Florence Jellard with an 89, while Betty Swanson won the stableford prize with 34 points. 

The other stableford prizes were 2nd Beryl Garnett 34 (on count back), 3rd Marie Way 32, Joy Aitchison 30, Denise Lindley, Kathryn Clarke and Anne Kensington on 29, and finally an apologetic 26 from Alison Riley for the final prize placing. 

The men's division 1 nett winner was Ross Jellard with 66 from Tony Fitzherbert 73.  The gross winner was Ian Christie from Tokoroa with a well constructed 75.  John Mulholland won the stableford prize with 39 points.  Other local scores were 3rd King Shanly, 5th Tali Mulafia and 6th Terry Garnett - all 35.  A mob from Helensville cleaned up the rest of the prizes, as well as the raffle.  They thought the course was in excellent condition and well worth the effort of visiting.  Of course taking home 4 of the stableford prizes was pretty cool as well. 

In division 2 the nett winner was Stephen Thorby with an embarrassing return to form score of 64; runner up (just like the Fords at Bathurst 2004) Andrew Sadler with 70.  The gross winner was Alan Wallace with a great round of 82, and the stableford winner was Roger Clothier with 40 points (is this a pointer to the Fords winning Bathurst 2005? I think not!). 

Stableford 2nd went to Duncan Gallagher 37, 3rd Stu Kensington 36, Lindsay Siegel, Lance Hay and Tony Edgar all had 34, and Gary Urbahn and Lance Douglas 32. 

The winner of the Non golfers section (there was only one in the division), stealing the beer off Captain Ding and playing a superb round of golf was Sean Samkin.  (I am not a bitter person!!) 

Two’s were scored by Kathryn Clarke, Cheryl Jones, Laurie Burkhart, John Mulholland, Ross Jellard, Roger Clothier and Henry Van Dyk. 

The closest to the pins went to Alan Wallace, Roger Clothier and Cheryl Jones. 

Ladies and Vets Report
With a weather forecast predicting cold wet southerlies, only 14 hardy souls took to the fairways.  The Uden Trophy 3rd round (0-30 handicaps) saw Cheryl Jones come in with 71 nett being the best score of the day, Irene McIvor 73 and Joy Aitchison 74. The Lithgow Trophy 3rd round (31-54 handicaps) saw Bev Macartney 74 nett and Brenda Buckeridge 79. Irene McIvor scored a two on 8th. 

The 9 Holer’s played the 4th round Putting Button. Elizabeth Howland had 15 putts, Lynette Bennett 16 and Dulcie McLean 17. 

An Open Day held at Putaruru on 23rd June saw 78 Vets, coming from throughout the greater Waikato and as far away as Waihi.  In the men’s division 1, Neville Blundell (Tirau) returned a card with 39 points, Ross Jellard 38 on count back from John Morrison and Maurice Tricker.  In division 2, first was Gary Urbahn 41, H Bristowe (Tokoroa) and R Kitchener 36. 

In the Ladies scramble, Heather Howard had 35, Anne Kensington and Irene McIvor 33. 

Coming up …
We have the All Blacks wrapping up the test series, and the Lithgow Trophy semi final rounds this weekend … Good golfing from Captain Ding!

Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC