Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2005.07.06 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive

Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 6 July 2005. 

Men's Report
Saturday’s Mini open Tournament started out as a Ham n Chicken event, evolved to a Pork n Chicken, and on Saturday had neither Ham, nor Chickens!  Pork and Bacons were the order of the day, great for combating the ill effects of hunger after an All Black thrashing of those northern pretenders. 

Heather Howard was the winning lady with a nett 73, dominating the field of one! 

The division 1 winner was Ron Taylor with a nett 68, runner up Ross Jellard 71.  The stableford winner was Tali Mulafia with 37 points on count back from Paul Graham and Hooky Howard; Mike Karl, King Shanly, Graeme Carroll, Ted Ward 36, and Terry Garnett 35. 

Stu Kensington won division 2 with a 68 nett, runner up Tony Edgar 72.  Stephen Thorby won the stableford with 40 points, 2nd Roger Clothier, 3rd Duncan Gallagher 35, Gary Urbahn 34, and Neville Dugan and Brad Karl 33. 

Two’s were scored by Ross Jellard 3rd, Neville Dugan 10th and Ian Worth on the 3rd and 8th

Oh, and while on great winners, both Michael Campbell, after his US Open win, and Tana Umaga and the All Black’s have been given exemptions to enter any of the Putaruru open golf events for the next 10 years as well!! 

Congratulations to Peter Young in winning the Lithgow Trophy Flight final over Les O’Leary. 

Finally, I have been hauled over the coals for not mentioning anything last week about the Prebble Cup win over our dear friends and close rival’s at Tirau.  And did you hear about the character from Tirau who after the loss at Te Aroha was heard to say “… thank Christ I don’t get the South Waikato News!!”  Ah well, their loss!  Go The Blacks!! 

Ladies and Vets Report
Having postponed the Saturday ladies competition because of the Mid Winter Christmas tournament on the same day, Tuesday players only participated in a scramble.  The best score of the day with a nett 65 was returned by the captain Cheryl Jones.  Five shots away was Maureen Shanly with 70 and Denise Hunt on 71.  Two's were scored by Florence Jellard on 10 and Cheryl Jones on 8. 

The 9 hole ladies played a competition where their worst 3 holes did not count.  Gillian Robbins had 34 nett, Lynette Bennett 37 and Cecily Duxfield 38. 

Cheryl Jones announced that Denise Hunt and Jeanette Burton were the Woman’s Golf Waikato winners of the Nancy MacCormick Foursomes which is a Home Links competition played over 36 holes.  Their results now go forward to Women’s Golf NZ to establish the overall winner in the competition. Well done to you both. 

Semi-finalists in The Alan Hooper Memorial Trophy are Denise Hunt v Margaret Ranger and Heather Howard v Joy Aitchison. 

30 Vets turned out on Thursday in cold but dry conditions.  In the Ladies scramble, Denise Hunt had 37, Irene McIvor 35 and Bev Macartney 34. 

In the Men’s scramble Lindsay Siegel had 38, Stu Kensington 35 and Butch Hamilton 38. 

Coming up …
We have an All Black whitewash of the Lion’s series, and the Lithgow Trophy final between Ross Jellard, and the in form favourite Stephen Thorby.  The wooden spooner’s travel to Piopio Aria this Thursday with some 36 in the field, there is intense interest in the outcome of the day.  Finally the Watson Plate has been postponed until the 24th of July, the entry sheet is now up in the club house. … Good golfing from Captain Ding!


Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC