Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2005.08.03 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive

Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 3 August 2005. 

Men's Report
And the winner of the Stratson Cup is Mike Karl, firing a 67 gross for a +3 on bogey.  Congratulations to Tony Muller who competed well to make the play off, but didn’t fire on the day. 

The elimination rounds of the President’s Trophy have begun.  And let me tell you that the bitter taste of defeat is starting to tell.  Hooky Howard and Colin Emslie lost the only first round match to Paul Graham and Adam Sadler.  Paul and Adam have a real savvy combination, and look very strong to make it all the way to the final.  Hooky and CC now go into the plate round, and barring a default, should win comfortably! 

There was a second round match played resulting in the shock defeat of Stephan Thorby and Henry Van Dyk, languishing against a strong showing by Ron Taylor (41 points) and Vic O’Rourke (37).  BS Hackett was total astounded the match lasted until the 17th

Other notable scores from Saturday were Mark Lawrence winning division 1 with 42 points, 2nd Ron Taylor and 3rd Tali Mulafia 41, Mike Karl and Hooky Howard 40, Maurice Tricker 38 and Barry Wallace and Vic O’Rourke 37.  Neville Dugan took out division 2 with 40, Neil Sinclair and Brad Karl 38, Andrew Sadler 37, Tony Edgar and Wayne Mudford 36, Roger Clothier 35 and Lindsay Siegel 34. 

Presidents Draw
Butch and Murray Hamilton play Paul Graham/Adam Sadler, Lindsay Siegel/John Wood play King Shanly/Dieter Drescher, Maurice Tricker/Mark Lawrence play Captain Ding/Doug Worth, John Mulholland/Ross Jellard play Terry Garnett/Neville Dugan, Tony’s Edgar/Muller play John Bryant/Roger Clothier, Ian and Brett Worth play Don Riley/Neil Sinclair, Mike and Brad Karl play Ted Ward/Les O’Leary. 

Ladies and Vets Report
The ladies played the last L.G.U. for the season, the final round of the Uden and Lithgow Trophies, and the best 16 scores qualifying for the Matchplay Trophy Cup.  In the 0-18 division Alison Riley would be very happy with her nett 67, Margaret Ranger 71 and Denise Hunt 72.  In the 18-30 division Florence Jellard and Joy Aitchison had nett 70’s and Cheryl Jones 73.  In the 30-40 division Joan Spargo and Bev Macartney had nett 75’s and close behind was Margaret Karl with 76.  Two's were scored by Alison Riley and Judy Grey on the 3rd hole. 

The 9 holer’s played round 2 of a stableford competition and Helen Haigh had the best score with 20 points, Gillian Robbins 17 and Dulcie McLean 16. 

Vets day on Thursday saw only 4 ladies in the field but Cheryl Jones has certainly found form again with her 39 points and Florence Jellard 34.  In the men’s scramble Keith Hunt's 40 points just pipped Stew Kensington on 39 with Lindsay Siegel and John Wood a couple back on 37.

The 5th and final round of the East Zone Wills Cup competition was played on Friday 29th at Matamata.  The Putaruru team of Denise Hunt, Irene McIvor, Joy Aitchison, Cheryl Jones and Margaret Karl played Tokoroa.  Bev Macartney was to be the sixth team member but Tokoroa could not field a full team.  Consequently Putaruru gained 12 points from the default.  Putaruru won by 56˝ to 45˝ but could not head off Tirau who beat Walton.  Tirau were the overall zone winners on 308˝ with Putaruru second on 301˝, (Walton 281.)  Tirau and Putaruru will play other zone finalists for the Wills Cup and Jug on September 16, course to be advised. 

Wouldn’t it be nice to have another provincial trophy alongside the Prebble Cup and Vets Pennant … you go girls!! 

Coming up …
We have the second round of the Presidents Trophy and a scramble … Good golfing and good luck from Captain Ding!


Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC