Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2005.08.31 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive

Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 31 August 2005. 

Men's Report
The gap between immortality and mortality is very fine and Saturday’s Presidents finals showed just that.  In two tight and gripping finals, both of the winners were 1 up playing the last hole, and held on to win.  Ross Jellard and John Mulholland came back from behind (3 down at 1 stage), to claim victory over a gritty and determined effort by King Shanly and Dieter Dresher.  And in the flight final, Henry Van Dyk and Stephen Thorby served the poisoned chalice to Terry Garnett and Neville Dugan.  Well done to all finalists and congratulations to the winners.  However spare a thought for the losers, who now have to live with the ignominy of listening to the victors talk up the magnitude of their wins and the expertise of their golfing prowess – they could be very hard to live with for the next couple of weeks. 

On Thursday we held our monthly Putaruru Super Liquor mid week tournament.  Winning the ladies nett was Elayne O’Leary on count back from Cheryl Jones with 71, and Alison Riley won the stableford prize with 37 points, Betty Swanson 34, Florence Jellard 33 and Heather Edgar 29. 

In division 1, Lance Hay won the nett with 67, runner up Ted Ward 69.  The stableford winner was Ross Jellard 41, Lauchie Phillips and Bruce Oxenham 39, John Wood 38, Mark Lawrence, Rhys Burnett and Shannin Christensen 37. 

In division 2, Dieter Dresher nett 67, runner up Neville Dugan 70.  Stableford winner Ian Walters 40, Duncan Gallagher 38, Roger Clothier and Keith Hunt 37 and Wayne Mudford 36. 

Twos were scored by Rhys Burnett 13th and Lance Hay 8th

In Saturdays scramble, 5 points for the front nine did not win a prize – sorry Tony!  Winning division 1 was Ian Worth with 42, Maurice Tricker 41, Anthony Berben and Hooky Howard 39, Terry Garnett 38 and Tali Mulafia and John Wood 37.  The division 2 winner was Lindsay Siegel with 43, Tony Edgar 42, Peter Smith 41, Stephen Thorby 40, and Brad Karl, Neville Dugan and Doug Worth 37. 

No twos were scored on such a resplendent day, and the special round of applause for the hard luckers (close, but no cigar!) went to Roger Clothier, Tom Houston, Ross Jellard, John Mulholland and Vic O’Rourke all with 36 points! 

Ladies & Vets Report
With a sky looking like "will it or won't it" rain, 31 players took the gamble, which was the right one and headed out.  With many competitions looking to be finalised for the season, there were 3 competitions that needed play-offs.  The winner of the 2005 Gold Medal is Denise Hunt, and the Putting Button winner in the 0-30 division is Judy Grey and in 31-54 division Bev Macartney.  The scramble results saw Florence Jellard net 71, Denise Hunt 73, Margaret Ranger, Margaret Karl and Betty Swanson 74 and Bev Macartney 75.  Joy Aitchison scored a 2 on the.8th hole. 

The 9 hole ladies played the final of their Putting Button with Joy McDonnell the winner with 17 putts Wanda Lyon and Gillian Robbins 18 putts. 

The last matchplay competition for the season was a great final with Anne Kensington coming out the winner from Raewyn Hoole. 

The results from Thursday vets saw Dieter Drescher 41 points win on count back from Ross Jellard, and Butch Hamilton 39.  While the ladies winner was Alison Riley 37 on count back from Cheryl Jones, and Betty Swanson 34. 

Coming up …
Saturday is the Putaruru Maori Open Tournament, it is a rolling start with a big field expected … Good golfing and good luck from Captain Ding!

Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC