Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2005.09.07 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive

Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 7 September 2005. 

Men's Report
On Saturday the Putaruru Golf Club hosted their annual Maori Open Tournament.  Pristine was the way the golf course was described and rightfully so.  Food for thought though, or a growl from Captain Ding, 29 locals played in the field of 66, this is very disappointing for the prestige of the Maori Tournament.  We had 37 visitors from 13 clubs around the Waikato and the Bay, and they thoroughly enjoyed the day, the camaraderie and the hospitality, even if the golf deserted some of them.  We can be better hosts than that! 

The Jeff Himiona Memorial Trophy goes to the local with the best nett, and John Wood with an outstanding 63 cleaned up. 

ALL the ladies won a prize, with the best nett won by Juliana Matenga (Te Kowhai), runner up Luana Ngatai (Raglan).  Chantelle Cassidy of Tokoroa won the gross with runner up Marleina Te Kanawa of Raglan.  The stableford winner was Elaine Wilson (Waiterimu), 2nd Rose Epiha (Te Kowhai), 3rd Vivian Shailer (Tokoroa), 4th Louise Wallace (Tirau) and 5th Natasha Green (Te Wauhai). 

In division 1, George Brown from Ngaruawahia loved the course, and why wouldn’t he with a nett 62, the nett runner up was our own Ron Taylor with 66.  Mike Karl shot 67 to win the gross, runner up Kawana Pihama (Waitakere).  John Wood played outstanding golf to take the top stableford with 45, 2nd Massey Rata (Tirau), 3rd Ahu Te Ao (Stewart Alexander), Tali Mulafia 41, Rob Cox (Te Awamutu), Butch Hamilton 38, W Selway and James Hunt (both Kawerau), Greg Worth, Andrew Chase and Steve Emile winning the final prizes in division 1. 

In division 2 the nett winner was our own Adam Sadler with a nett 67, the runner up Brett Worth with 68.  Lance Hay won the gross, runner up James Raina from Te Awamutu.  And Brad Karl won the stableford with 40, runner up Wayne Mudford 39, 3rd Dieter Drescher 38, Paul Graham 37, Ray Samuels and Waka Mika from Kawerau, Doug Worth 35, Hooky Howard, Peter Smith, Roger Clothier 34 and Ren Wotton winning the lower stableford prizes. 

There were 8 two’s scored each winning 4 balls, Mike Karl, Ma Petero (Ngaruawahia), Ormsby Barrett (Ngaruawahia), Doig Chase, George Brown, Greg Worth, Allan Tai (Tokoroa) and Massy Rata. 

The longest drives went to Chantelle Cassidy, Mike Karl and Roger Clothier.  The nearest to the pin, Marleina Te Kanawa, George Brown and Adam Sadler. 

And finally the Putaruru College Kapa Haka group raised over $200 on the haggle hole … great stuff! 

It was a lovely fine day, course in great nick, an awesome prize table … bring on next year!! 

Ladies & Vets Report
Tuesday's 18 hole golfers played the annual Flag Match competition in near perfect conditions and there was some extremely good scores returned. Denise Hunt with a nett 66 was the winner of the trophy, Norine McPherson 68, Joy Aitchison and Bev Macartney both on 69 nett and Betty Swanson 71.  Elayne O'Leary scored a two on the 8th. 

The 9 hole golfers also played their Flag Match and the winner was Lynette Bennett with a nett 35, Gillian Robbins 36 and Elizabeth Howland 37. 

This week there is no vets report. 

Coming up …
On Saturday the competition will be Russian stableford, you know, where you sort yourselves into pairs and multiply the stableford scores for the team score for 18 holes.  This is a little different, but leading into the club champs provides a little light relief.  The club champs start on the 17th, and the Smythe Trophy interclub with Taupo, Tokoroa and Mangakino is now scheduled for Sunday the 25th mustering at 10AM for a 10.30 shotgun start … Good golfing and good luck from Captain Ding!

Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC