Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2005.09.21 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive


Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 21 September 2005. 

Men's Report
The club champs have begun, blood is being spilt, but other than a couple of matches, went to seeding.  Hooky Howard just about caused a sensation in pushing 3rd seed Ron Taylor hard.  The duo parried violently on the putting surface with the spoils of war going to Ron.  Little consolation was Hookyís 42 point haul for his effort! 

From Saturdays scramble the high scores were; Lance Hay 43 points, Hook Howard 42, Ron Taylor and Rhys Burnett 40, Greg Worth and Ted Ward 39.  In division 2; Adam Sadler 44, Stephen Thorby 43, Tony Fitzherbert 41 and Brett Worth 38. 

The Super Liquor mid saw a good turn out.  The Ladies nett winner was Florence Jellard 71.  The stableford winner was Denise Hunt 35.  The men's division 1 nett winner was Allan Wallace 65, runner up John Wood 70.  The stableford winner was Murray Hamilton 40, runner up Lance Hay 37.  The division 2 nett winner was Neville Dugan 65 runner up Lindsay Siegel 66.  Stableford winner Wayne Mudford 43, 2nd Keith Hunt 42, Dieter Drescher 38 and Tony Edgar 37. 

Finally, congratulations to Brad Karl coming 3rd in the Booth Shield and making the boys team, and also to Nikki Darroch from Tirau coming first in the girls. 

Ladies & Vets Report
With 37 players heading out to play the final qualifying round for Club Champs, everyone was grateful of the continuing fine and mild conditions.  Thanks must go to Ron for his early starts on the past two Tuesdays.

The stroke play winners were; Silver, Denise Hunt 171, Bronze A, Alison Riley 182 and 9 Holerís Dulcie McLean.  Good luck to Denise, Alison and Florence Jellard (R/Up) who go to Taumaranui in October to play in the Champion of Champions. 

The scramble results from Tuesday, Silver; Margaret Ranger 86, Denise Hunt 87 and Irene McIvor 90.  Bronze A; Alison Riley 91, Joy Aitchison 92 and Irene Orr 93.  Bronze B; Brenda Buckeridge 104, Raewyn Hoole 105 and Joan Spargo 107.  9 Holerís; Dulcie McLean 55, Ethne Dodd 59 and Lynette Bennett 60.  The only two was scored by Margaret Ranger on the 8th

The draws for the Champs are Silver, Denise Hunt v Denise Lindley, Irene McIvor v Margaret Ranger.  Bronze 1, Florence Jellard v Marie Way, Cheryl Jones v Anne Kensington, Alison Riley v Jenny Smith, Joy Aitchison v Rachel Young.  Bronze 2, Brenda Buckeridge v Camille McAlister, Jeanette Burton v Bev Macartney, Raewyn Hoole v Maureen Shanly, Margaret Karl v Neroli Fisher.  9 Holerís, Wanda Lyon v Helen Haigh, winner to play Dulcie Mc Lean in the 2nd round.  Other matches in the 2nd round are Gillian Robbins v Elizabeth Howland, Ethne Dodd v Joy McDonnell, Lynette Bennett v Mairi Edmonds. 

The final of the Waikato Wills Cup was played at Te Awamutu on Friday in cold and wet conditions.  The winners were Tahuna only after a 3 hole play off with Tirau.  Hard luck to our neighbours as we certainly were touting for you.  Putaruru were 3rd in The Jug event, with Ngahinepouri coming out the victors, once again. 

The vetís results saw Lindsay Siegel 1st with 42 on count back from Keith Hunt, John Wood and Dieter Drescher 38.  In the ladies Florence Jellard 37, Denise Hunt 35 and Alison Riley 34. 

Coming up Ö
Saturday has the second round of the club champs.  The Pritchard Cup (mixed Ambrose) is still scheduled for Sunday the 2nd of October and the Smythe Trophy interclub is now scheduled for Sunday the 30th of October Ö Good golfing and good luck from Captain Ding!

Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC