Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2005.11.23 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive




Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 23 November 2005.

Putaruru Super Liquor Mid Week
With all the busyness, we had a small field of 25 run in conjunction with the vets field. Don Riley took top honours with a grandiose nett 61, Lance Hay 65 and Denise Hunt 70.  Cheryl Jones had 36 points, Peter Donaldson a modest 40 along with Tony Muller in division 2.

Grayburn Ross Twilight
Twilight is going brilliantly, even if Captain Ding was late with prize giving which started at 9.00PM - with 60 plus in the field, these things do happen.  Ted Ward won the golfers division with 23 points, King Shanly delighted with an artful 22 and Stephen Thorby, Terry Garnett and Ron Taylor came in with 21.  James Van Dyk & Steve Williams tied for first in the non golfers with 25, Jeza O’Rourke 24 and Daniel White and Scooter coming in with 23.  Jenny Smith won the ladies with 23.

The Go Whitey team took out the teams with maximum points on 63, 2nd Koro’s Krew and Famous 5 3rd with 62.  The famous 5 have a commanding points lead at this stage, but the handicappers knife is coming, and we still have 4 weeks to go.

As an aside, the wooden spoon trip is off to Pirongia on Thursday.  Pirongia is fondly remembered by Putaruru for the place where the Prebble Cup hopes were kept alive by Putaruru poaching a draw from the jaws of defeat against Tirau!

Ladies Report
The Closed Christmas Tournament for present and past members on Saturday was extremely successful, thanks to the commitment of the 2005 Ladies Club Captain Cheryl Jones and her team.  Cheryl welcomed everyone and thanked those past members who came from as far away as Auckland, Wanganui and the Bay of Plenty.  Also her thanks went out went out to the sponsors, Don & Alison Riley, Challenge Putaruru and Putaruru Car Painters for their generous contribution to the day.

The best local player with the best overall nett in the men’s division was John Craig with 59 who received a full sized ham kindly sponsored by Bill & Cheryl Jones, and in the Ladies, receiving the same prize was Jenny Clothier with 63.  The Men’s Division 1 gross prize went to Mike Karl with 74.  The nett prize went to Ian Worth who also had a dazzling 74 off the stick for a nett 60.  In the stableford, John Wood and Greg Worth 41, Maurice Tricker and Rhys Burnett 39, and Lance Hay 38.  The nearest the pin went to Ron Taylor.

Division 2 - gross Keith Hunt 84, nett Tony Edgar 68, stableford Ted Ward and Kingsley Shanly 40, Steve Thorby 39, and nearest the pin Ted Ward.

Division 3 - gross Henry Van Dyk 89, nett Wayne Mudford 68, stableford Peter Smith 38, Doug Worth 37, Ron Hunt 36 and nearest the pin Rex Fisher.

Non Golfers - Russell McCarthy, Phillip McPherson and Ray Godfrey were the winners.

Ladies Division 1 - gross Denise Hunt 77, nett Judy Grey 65, stableford Denise Lindley and Irene McIvor 68, Alison Riley 70 and nearest the pin Anne Kensington.

Ladies Division 2 - gross Raewyn Hoole 95, nett Joan Spargo 63, stableford Audrey Mathis
42, Bev Macartney 41, Jeanette Burton 40, Jenny Smith 37 and nearest the Pin Jo Gaby.

9 hole Ladies - the winners were Gillian Robbins, Dulcie McLean and Lynette Bennett, while in the Non Golfers division Helen Bain and Jo Gaby took top honours.


Coming up …
Thursday, we have the Grayburn Ross Twilight, and yes, some one will be welcomed home with the wooden spoon from Pirongia.  On Saturday we have a scramble, Captain Ding will dream up an interesting format for the day … Good golfing and good luck from Captain Ding!


Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC