Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2005.12.14 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive




Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 14 December 2005.

Men's Report
Spectacular, brilliant and stunning is the only way to describe the success of the Wealleans Open Christmas tournament held last Wednesday.  With a hundred plus in the field and visitors hailing from as far away as Raglan, Gavin Wealleans and Captain Ding found the response very gratifying.  The Putaruru Golf Club is very thankful for the generosity of the sponsorship by Wealleans.

The visitors to the course managed to hold their own featuring well in the prizes.  The scoring overall, other than top prizes, was pretty much in the range of the course rating.  The nett winners were Heather Howard 66, Peter Donaldson with a scintillating 63 and Dugald Hollamby with a noble and distinguished 69.  The nett runners up were Cheryl Jones 67, Hooky Howard 67, and Doug Worth 69.  The gross winners were Denise Lindley 82, Brad Wilson (Paeroa) 78, and Phil Butler (Tirau) 89. 

The stableford winners were, in the Ladies; Elayne O’Leary 41, Florence Jellard and Rachel Young 38, Marie Way, Brenda Buckeridge and Alison Riley 36.  In Men’s Division 1; 1st Willy Barlow (Raglan) 41, Ross Jellard, Peter Richmond (Tirau) and Bill Macky (Tirau) 41, and Ian Worth 40.  In Men’s Division 2 1st Neville Dugan 39, John Craig 39, Peter Patten (Tirau) 38, John Waterworth Jnr (Tirau), Gary Urbahn, Chris Bates and Tony Edgar 37.

The Non-Golfers prizes went to Terry Putt, Peter McGlashan, Steve Darroch, John McPherson, Matt Robertson and Ashley Roberts.

Special praise was mentioned to the presentation of the course by green keeper Ron Hunt, it was bodacious!

There was a small field that played on Saturday, which saw Tony FitzHerbert win on count back from Tali Mulafia and Adam Sadler (all on 42); Vic O’Rourke and Paul Graham 41 and Massey Rata 40.

Grayburn Ross Twilight
Last Thursday saw 70 in the field, fierce competition, and Dings Mob still leading Cambo’s Crew into the final night.

Brenda Buckeridge won the ladies with 18, Jenny Smith 16, and Lorraine Smith and Jenny Clothier 15.  Alan Wallace and Daniel Van Dyk top scored with 23 in the golfers section, Paul Graham, Mark Lawrence, Wayne Mudford, Ron Taylor and Ted Ward came in on 22.  And in the non golfer section, Ben Cross cleaned up with 26, Spotty McCarthy had a return to form with 24, Karl Flavell, Grant Kelsen 23, David Gill, Greg Burnett and Jeff Mossong 22.

The team’s competition sees the Famous 5 sitting on 20.5, leading by only 1.5 over the MacDaddies.  The MacDaddies have one more week to knock the Famous 5 off.

The big prize giving will commence around 9.00PM, and all teams will need to be present to claim their prizes, oh, and by the way, did I mention all teams are getting a prize if they are there??

Finally, Adam Sadler scored the only two … I don’t know what's happened to the low handicappers scoring two’s, Burns last week, Sadz this week!!

Membership Drive
We have a steady flow of new members joining which is good, we are always looking for more and for a hundred bucks, there’s plenty of time to get value for money over the summer!

Coming up …
On Thursday we have the prize giving night for the Grayburn Ross Twilight and on Saturday the first round of the summer cup which is also the “Last chance Ham n Chicken Tournament.”  Also, spare a thought for the poor soul that has come up trumps, or should that be chumps (?!) to win the wooden spoon which was played on Tuesday at Putaruru … Good golfing and good luck from Captain Ding!


Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC