Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2005.12.21 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive

Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 21 December 2005.

Men's Report
It was Black Tuesday (the 13th) that the Putaruru Wooden Spooner’s had their home round break up.  The competition was played on nett, as opposed to stableford which meant that every hole had to be played out.  Rumours were rife of tales of out of bounds and super high scores on various holes ... like the gentleman who had a 10 on the par 3 10th hole, two out of bounds and a 3 putt to boot; another tale of two out of bounds on the 1st hole for a starting 10 on the par 4, and a lesson in rules as yet another poor unfortunate was forced to count an air shot on the 1st tee, this after he had already hit his first shot over the woolshed!

Most speculation centred on how close Captain Ding would come to the wooden spoon but a nett 66 arrived early from Santa.

Now with the day being a Tuesday, the spooner's decided to further facilitate relations between men's and ladies golf by playing for the first ever Men’s putting button - on ladies day no less.  The lucky winner was Stew Kensington sinking a fantastic putt on 18 ... Nice one Stew!

Tony Muller took top honours with a nett 63, 2nd Butch Hamilton 65, Ron Taylor and Rhys Burnett and Captain Ding 66 and Ross Jellard and Wayne Mudford 67.

At the business end of winning the wooden spoon, David Hoyte was there on a nett 79, but quite relaxed with the knowledge that he had not won the spoon.  Tony Edgar on a nett 80, along with John Lamb and Eivin Lynghaug were quite twitchy, but Neville Dugan came through with 81 to claim the "honour" of baby sitting the spoon over the Christmas break.

On Saturday it persisted down, 24 played of which 6 were visitors.  I complimented those that stopped after 9 holes for their sanity, and those who played 18 on their tenacity.  We gave out hams to Hin Pohatu (Ngaruawahia) nett 70 and to Heather Howard for 31 points.  Mark Lawrence had a nett 69 and Vic O’Rourke 39 points.

The Summer Cup will now be played from the 14th of January for 3 rounds due to Saturday’s conditions.

Grayburn Ross Twilight
The final prize giving night had 69 playing on a damp and wet night.  Dings Mob was pipped at the post by Cambo’s Crew who scabbed a half point to draw level in this little side duel.  But, it was the MacDaddies who also came home on the closing run to just oust the Famous Five from first place.  Who are these people?  The winners, Mike & Brad Karl, David O’Brien, Matt Corrin, Vance Carson and Chris Bates.  The Famous Five … Alan Wallace, Mark Nicholl (Scooter), Grant Kelsen, Leon Duncan.

Fern Taylor won the ladies, Vic O’Rourke won the golfers with 23, Vance Carson and Ron Taylor 22.  Richard Brown slaughtered in the non golfers with 29, Ben Cross and Lindsay Strange 25.

For next year there will be 2 divisions, one social and one for the serious teams.  We play for the summer Twilight Shield, and there will be a tightening up on the scores that count for team scoring.  This will be one competition not to be missed, and it will be tight.  More teams, we need more teams!!

Twilight starts on the 19th of January, with the team’s competition starting in February for 5 weeks, team cost $60.

Coming up …
On Boxing Day we will have a 9 hole scramble for $10 for ham’s and bacon’s no less, tees open from 11:00AM until 12:30PM.  Otherwise there is nothing until the 14th of January … Compliments of the Season from Captain Ding!

Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC