Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2006.02.15 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive

Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 15 February 2006.

Men's Report
It was opening day on Saturday, and if this is anything to go by, we’re in for a stellar year.  52 made the day and there were more than a few that apologised for their absence.  Starting with bubbles and nibbles to warm up, the field set out playing foursomes.  The mixed division were playing for the Lion Trophy, and too hot to handle were Hooky and Heather Howard winning with a nett 65.5; close on their heels were Butch & Vere Hamilton 67, 3rd Ted & Rosemary Ward 67.5, Anne & Stew Kensington 72.5 and Keith Hunt & Camille McAllister 73.

In the men's foursomes, Captain Ding and Brian Curd came 3rd, but Ron Taylor & Doug Worth won with a nett 65.5, 2nd Mike & Brad Karl 68, 4th on count back, Lindsay Siegel & Dieter Drescher 71 and 5th on count back Adam Sadler & Tony Edgar 71.5.  Hooky and Heather had the only two.

Also drawn on Saturday was the raffle for a night’s accommodation and a round of golf for 2 at one of several locations throughout New Zealand, value up to $250.  Three winners were drawn; Tony Edgar, Peter Rennie and Stew Kensington all receive a voucher courtesy of the Golf Gazette.

Another highlight will be a ladies corner on the website, Camille McAllister will feed Captain Ding the appropriate amount of gossip and results to post regularly.

Yesterday, 30 odd golfers will have competed to NOT win the wooden spoon at Lakes Resort at Pauanui, details, salacious gossip and a full report will be on the web as soon as, so long as Captain Ding is not sulking about being the winner!

Grayburn Ross Twilight
77 rocked out to enjoy the forecast thunderstorms that never eventuated!

Captain Ding was taken to task for not proclaiming the prowess of Cambo’s Crew in winning the previous weeks Ambrose competition with a nett 19.  Captain Ding is most unapologetic as he was away at the Wellington 7’s!

In last Thursday’s competition Ted Ward took out the golfer’s division with Daniel Van Dyk and Sean Samkin runners up, all on 21 points.  Deb Worth won the ladies division with 19 points, Brenda Buckeridge and Fern Taylor 18.

Chris Hodgson won the non-golfers with 24 points, with Rick Davies, Brett Makene and Bill Strange all close but no cigar on 23.  In the teams scoring, Go YT had 63 points to take out the division one, the Layers were 2nd on count back with 63 also, and the Stranglers had 60.  Hog ‘n’ Hound’s won division 2 with 60 points, 18” Wood Pruners 59, and Double X’d and Gang 87 tied for 3rd equal with 56.

The last wee snippet is about the very sad tale of the golfer from Waotu who had 10 points.  For full information on this affair, check out the Club’s website.

The other prize winners all scoring 20 points were Captain Ding, Brian Curd, Terry Garnett, Lance Hay, Dave O’Brien, Ron Taylor and Allan Wallace.  The other prize winners in the non-golfers division with 22 points were Grant Brownhill, Greg Burnett, Matt Corrin, Ian Nelson, Lindsay Strange, and Daniel White.  Jeza O’Rourke and Donk Meyer received a hearty round of applause for the fact that they came very close to receiving a prize but didn’t (so close!!)

Coming up …
We have the second round of business house in the Grayburn Ross Twilight on Thursday.  On Saturday we have the Walford Cup which is the best 2 out of 3 rounds on NETT, as well as qualifying for the Bradshaw Cup … Good luck and good golfing from Captain Ding!

Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC