Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2006.03.08 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive

Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 8 March 2006.

Men's Report
Was that a wind or what on Saturday?  And it probably started in Waotu after a very famous win in the twilight by the ebullient David Hoyte and effervescent Cambo’s Crew.

There was a ball scramble on Saturday, with Stew Kensington handling conditions with consummate ease to reel in 43 points, followed by Stephen Thorby and David Hoyte 40, Mark Lawrence and Andrew Sadler 39, Neville Dugan and Hooky Howard 38 and Sean Samkin and Dieter Drescher 37.
There was also novelty prizes for most golf, worst nett, lowest stableford and worst filled in card, and the winners already having been humiliated shall remain nameless!

Other notable glories from Saturday include a contingent from Putaruru playing the Putaruru Super Liquor sponsored Open Tournament at Tirau.  Brian Curd had 44 points or a nett 57 (par 65) to win in division 2, while Captain Ding had 39 points to win the stableford section of division 1 PLUS a closest to the pin on 8.  Putaruru Super Liquor did another outstanding job, thanks Jim and Sara, as did the Tirau Golf Club.

It was a disappointing turnout for the first round of the Nancy McCormick trophy, however the scoring was tight as three pairs tied for a first round lead of 68 and the next placed pair only ½ point back.  Saturday girls Denise Hunt and Jeanette Burton started the run on Sat with a 68, and not to be outdone the Tuesday Ladies matched them with Marie Way and Rosemary Ward 68 on a count back from Joy Aitchison and Florence Jellard also 68.  Anne Kensington and Camille McAllister 68 ½, and Brenda Buckeridge and Irene Orr 71.

Dulcie Mclean was the winner of the 9 hole Three Blind Mice Competition with 31 Gross;
Lynette Bennett came in 2nd, and Ethne Dodd 3rd.

Next Sat/Tue is NZ Women’s S/P; LGU; M/M and putting button.  The 9 holers will play putting.

Vets day continues to be popular with a field of thirty, and this week was won by Peter Smith 41 points, Stew Kensington 40 and John Wood 39.  Irene Orr had a decisive win in the Ladies with 39, Irene McIvor 35 on a count back from Norine McPherson.  The nine hole scramble went to Lorraine Bennett with 20 points.

Grayburn Ross Twilight
The bleak prospect of winter is just around the corner, and autumn seems to have arrived early this year.  Bleaker yet was having to endure the cacophony of cheer from the Cambo’s Crew winning their division for the night.  There was more wind inside than outside!

Go YT lead the teams in division 1, while the Hog & Hounds lead division 2, both teams will be very difficult to head off , but you never know.

Joy Aitchison with 22 points won the ladies, Brenda Buckeridge 18 and Beryl Garnett 17.  David Hoyte won the golfers division (boy that hurts!) with 22, Neville Dugan, Mark Lawrence and Vic O’Rourke 21, David O’Brien,clin Vance Carson 20, Captain Ding and Brendon Hunt 19.

Ken Manuel won the non golfers with 24, Smiley Alexander 23, Vaughan Richmond and Lindsay Strange 22, Jeff Mossong, Bill and Paul Strange and Brad White 21, Richard Van Dyk, Mark Nicholl and Damien Jaques 20.  The Stranglers won division 1 on count back from Go YT, 3rd Rum Brothers, while Cambo’s Crew won division 2, 2nd Hog & Hounds and 3rd Double X’d.

Coming up …
Thursday is Vets and Grayburn Ross Twilight; Saturday has the Firestone Ham n Chicken, Walford Cup round 2, Bradshaw Cup round 1, monthly medal, Captains Trophy and shootout starting (on nett) … Good luck and good golfing!

Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC