Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2006.03.15 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive

Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 15 March 2006.

Men's Report
A busy weekend started with the Firestone tournament on Saturday along with the monthly medal shoot out and so on.  Dieter Drescher won the monthly medal and division 2 with a nett 66 and also leads the Walford Cup with 131 nett from nearest contenders Henry Van Dyk 134 and Ross Jellard 135.  Second in division 2 Henry Van Dyk 67 and 3rd Tommy Houston 70.  Division 1 was won by Ross Jellard 67, 2nd Maurice Tricker 68 on count back from King Shanly, Ted Ward and Terry Garnett.

The senior pennants team played Raglan at Ngaruawahia and secured a half with foursomes and singles finishing equal.  Wins went to Rhys and Butch Hamilton in the foursomes, and John Anderson, evergreen Phil Kensington and Butch Hamilton in the singles.  The team now sits first equal in the table … go figure?!

The zone 2 handicap pennants played at Putaruru saw Putaruru finish 5th out of 10 teams.  Playing at home did nothing for home advantage as Tirau on 443.5 finished ahead of Putaruru on 448.  Leading zone 2 is Waitomo on 436.  But, what about the Taumaranui man heard moaning about the green keeper at the bar, when the green keeper was on bar duty (unbeknown to him.)  Taumaranui came last!

Finally, we have 32 entries so far for the Van Dyk Classic 54 hole mixed foursomes, first come first in so please be in quick.
Congratulations to Marie Way and Rosemary Ward for their very decisive 7 stroke victory in the Nancy McCormick Trophy.  Scramble results for the day were; Marie Way & Rosemary Ward 64 nett, Florence Jellard & Joy Aitchison 71, and Audrey Mathis & Raewyn Hoole 71.5.

The Nine Holers “Hate Em” competition was won by Lynette Bennett, 2nd Dulcie McLean and 3rd Sue Urbahn.

This Friday the Wills Cup team will play Tokoroa at Tirau.  The 9 hole pennant team play Ngaruawahia at Hukanui.

Next weeks Club competition is All Irons for everyone.

Another good field turned out for the Thursday scramble.  This continues to be a popular event, and remember you don’t have to be a Veteran to take part, so if you need more golf just turn up Thursday 9.30 and join in. 

Scramble results were Gary Urbahn 40, Tony FitzHerbert 39, and Hooky Howard 38 on count back from Stew Kensington.  The Cadets division was won by Paul Graham with 40.  The Ladies didn’t score as well; Florence Jellard top scoring with 34, Audrey Mathis and Anne Kensington 33.

Grayburn Ross Twilight
3 teams now head into the final night with a chance of lifting the Business House Shield for 2006.
Go YT, MacDaddies and the Hog & Hound all have a chance.

The scramble will be over 6 holes on Thursday so we all get in before darkness descends on the sleepy vale.

Beryl Garnett won the ladies with 16, Jenny Clothier 13, and Lynette Bennett, Joy Aitchison and Brenda Buckeridge 11!  Vance Carson won the golfer section with 23 on count back from Sean Samkin, Wayne Mudford 22 and Captain Ding, David O’Brien and Ian Worth 21.  Chris Hodgson won the non golfers with 26 from Richard Brown, Matt Corrin, Jeff Mossong and James Van Dyk on 22, and Lindsay Strange, Graeme Ormsby and Rick Davies 21.

First in division 1 MacDaddies 63, Rum Brother 59, Go YT and 18” Wood Pruners 58.  In division 2, Double X’d 60, 2nd Gang 87 on 59 and 3rd I!RR!A 58, Cambo’s Crew nowhere!

Coming up …
Thursday is the Super Liquor Mid Week and Grayburn Ross final of twilight.  Saturday has the Walford Cup round 3, Bradshaw Cup round 2 and Bradshaw flights … Good luck and good golfing!

Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC