Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2006.05.31 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive

Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 31 May 2006.

Men's Report
Music to the ears as the premier trophy of Waikato Golf supremacy, the Prebble Cup, belongs to Putaruru for another year.  Playing at Paeroa, the team edged out a gritty challenge from Tahuna 6.5 to 5.5.  The team oozed a determination and resolve that was quite unnerving.

Up 2.5 to 1.5 after the morning foursomes, we knew we were in for a tussle.  But the dogged play of the four singles winners ripped at the heart of the Tahuna challenge.  Barry Wallace, Hooky Howard and Ross Jellard finished on the 14th, while Ted Ward hit the winning putt on the 16th to seal the tomb of the Tahuna challenge.  The others in the team were Maurice Tricker, John Mulholland, Terry Garnett and Neville Dugan, and the results of their singles matches were academic.

Everyone in the team has contributed to winning the cup over the matches leading up to the final.  And the caddies and supporters deserve special thanks for their efforts as well.  At least 30 odd supporters cheered on the proceedings which show that this is a special event for handicapped golfers, and represents the pinnacle of Waikato club competition.

From Saturday, David Hoyte set the pace with a scorching 43 points to win division 2 from Mark Lawrence, Dieter Drescher, Hooky Howard, Doug Worth and Eric Hill all on 37.  In division 1, Vic O’Rourke won with 39, Captain Ding and John Wood 38, John Mulholland 37 and Paul Graham and Ross Jellard 36.  Two’s were scored by Vic O’Rourke, Ron Taylor and John Mulholland.

The Competition was LGU, M/Medal and Patrons 3 for the Ladies on Tuesday.  Alison Riley won the Monthly Medal and division 1 of the Patrons trophy with a nett 70 from Cheryl Jones and Heather Howard.  Division 2 was won by Audrey Mathis 75 from Bev Macartney and Brenda Buckeridge.  Scramble results; Silver division, Alison Riley 70, Denise Hunt 74 and Irene McIvor 76.  Bronze 1, Cheryl Jones 70, Heather Howard 72, and Anne Kensington 78.  Bronze 2, Audrey Mathis 75, Bev Macartney 75, Brenda Buckeridge 76.  The only 2 of the day was scored by Irene McIvor.  

The 9 hole nett competition was won by E Dodd 39, followed by C Duxfield and L Bennett 43.

Congratulations to our Wills Cup team of Denise Hunt, Alison Riley, Cheryl Jones, Rachel Young, Audrey Mathis and Anne Kensington for their very convincing win on Friday.  Three of the team played under their handicap to put us in top position with three rounds left to play.

Coming Events; The 9 Hole Pennant team play Hamilton 2 at the Horsham Downs club on Friday, and Tuesday is LGU, M/M and Allan Hooper Qualifying while the 9 holers will play “Tee to Green.”

Adverse weather meant that there was no Vets Scramble on Thursday.  The Vets Pennant team was victorious in the final of the Round Robin at Matamata on Friday.  Hooky Howard top scored with 66 nett, followed by Ross Jellard 69, John Wood 70, Maurice Tricker 71, Tony FitzHerbert 72 and Dieter Drescher.  The final result was Putaruru 2122, Tirau 2178 and Matamata 2198.  The team will now play in the District final to be held at Morrinsville.

Coming up …
Thursday is Vets day, and over the long weekend we have scrambles on Saturday and Monday … The Lithgow matches resume the following week, and there is a flight … Good luck and good golfing!

Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC