Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2006.08.30 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive

Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 30 August 2006.

Men's Report
In the pressure cooker of the Presidents Trophy final, the winners walked the talk with a spectacular lesson of cool and measured golf.  Previous winners of the trophy, Butch and Murray Hamilton fronted on Saturday to win on the 16th hole 3/2.  Phil Kensington and Sean Samkin showed startling resilience, but succumbed to the relentless pressure on the back nine.  Butch and Murray were 1 down at the turn, but then poured it on with a slick display of best ball golf to come home 2 under for the back nine, and 1 under for the round.  Shattering is the only way to describe the capitulation on the back 9 as Butch and Murray won 4 out of the first 5 holes.  It is a moot point as to who did the choking, but either way, it was the Hamilton’s day in the sun.

On Thursday the Putaruru Super Liquor midweek tournament was played in resplendent conditions.  Heather Howard won the ladies with a nett 65, runner up Cheryl Jones 73.  Jenny Kelsen from Tirau won the stableford with 36, 2nd Alison Riley on count back from Michelle Thorby, both 34.

In men's division 1 King Shanly colourfully won with a nett 67, runner up Joe McGee from Tokoroa 69.  The stableford winner was Ron Taylor 39, Mike Karl 38, Brad Karl 38, Hooky Howard and Ian Christie from Tokoroa 37.

The division 2 nett winner was Wayne Mudford 67, runner up Dieter Drescher 68.  Brett Worth won the stableford with 41, Keith Hunt 37, Tony Edgar and Lance Hay 36.  Two’s were score by Brad Karl 13th, Ian Christie 3rd and Alan Wallace 10th.

To Saturdays scramble, where scoring returned to some semblance of normality, Ross Jellard won division 1 with 42 points, Ken Manuel and Vic O’Rourke 41, King Shanly 40, John Mulholland and Chris McKillop 39.  Tony Edgar won division 2 with 40, Roger Clothier and Richie Brown 39, Mark Lawrence 37, Stew Kensington and Tony Muller 36.  Two two’s were scored on the 10th by Tony Edgar and Lance Hay.

Finally, in a shock decision, handicaps for the men have been frozen as of now for all divisions in the club champs.  Entry sheets are now up in the club rooms and the intermediate draw closes on the 4th (next Monday.)

Ladies Report
Congratulations to Irene McIvor, Alison Riley, Cheryl Jones, Joy Aitchison.  Anne Kensington and Bev Macartney for their second placing in the Wills Cup Final.  The competition was hosted by the Huntly Golf Club, who provided both a good course and fine weather.  Waiterimu took out the event with 59 from Putaruru 54.

The competition of the day on Tuesday was Bogey … Heather Howard won the 0-30 division 5 up, Anne Kensington was all square and Florence Jellard 2 down on count back.  The division 2 winner was Bev Macartney 2 up, Jeanette Burton 1 up and Marie Way 2 down on count back.

The nine hole “Jingles” was won by Wanda Lyon 13, from Joy McDonnell 11 on count back from Lynette Bennett.

Next week is the first round of qualifying for both matchplay and stroke play for the club championships for all divisions.

Vets Report
In a smaller than usual field, King Shanly was top dog of the day with 41 points, Dieter Drescher came next with 40 on count back from Stew Kensington.

The ladies division was won by Cheryl Jones 35, from Alison Riley 34 and Florence Jellard 33.

Coming up …
Thursday is the Vets; Saturday has the Maori Open Tournament … Good luck and good golfing!


Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC