Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2006.11.01 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive

Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 1 November 2006.

Men's Report
Well, well, well, while the cat’s away the mice will play!  And play they did.  Starting with the Grayburn Ross Twilight, 49 players with a virtu for the fine and exquisite game we call golf, turned up in recreation for the nights competition.  Top dog for the night was the enigmatic Chris Bates with 23 points on count back from Ian Worth and Richard Brown, Ken Manuel 22, Vic O’Rourke 21, Sean Samkin and Mark Lawrence 20.  Storming home in the non golfers was Allan McCarthy 23, Smiley Alexander, Marcus McGarrey, Matt Corrin and Paul Strange 22, Bill Strange and Tim McIvor 21.  Fern Taylor won the ladies with 20 points.

The Firestone sponsored first round of business house starts this Thursday in twilight.  Team entry is $60 per team, and of course there are still the individual scrambles playing regardless of whether you are in a team.  The new and well established BCC team will again endeavour to continue it’s dominance over the yet unnamed bucolic team from Waotu.

On Saturday the season was formally closed with the Pritchard Cup team ambrose event played, and prize giving following afterward.  The winner of the Pritchard Cup was the team of John and Audrey Mathis, Norine McPherson and Tony Muller, a stunning nett 45.  The runner up was the A Team, Ron and Denise Hunt, John Anderson and Raewyn Hoole 47.25 and 3rd were Roger and Jenny Clothier, Don and Alison Riley 48.

First in the men's division were Chris Bates, Rhys Burnett and Mike and Brad Karl with, get this, 55 gross for 44 nett.  I hear whisper, that on the par 5 4th, putting for eagle, it wasn’t the senior club champ, or the senior runner up that holed out, it was the high handicapper Burns that bombed the putt!  Second was daylight, or rather Doug Worth, Mark Lawrence, Ken Manuel and Barry Wallace 49.75 and 3rd were Ross Jellard, Tommy Houston, Chris McKillop and Adam Sadler.

Ladies Report
Tuesday (24th) the ladies played nine holes and then completed the Connie Tulloch Pitch & Putt competition which was ably won by Lynette Bennett, one of our nine hole ladies.  She headed off some good competition from the 18 hole ladies to win.  Well done Lynette.  The A.G.M. followed at 1.30 p.m. which was well attended and the executive of Denise Hunt Captain, Cheryl Jones President and Rachel Young Secretary were returned.  We farewell Anne Kensington & Irene McIvor from the committee who have worked tirelessly for the Club over many years and we welcomed  three new members to the committee Maureen Shanly, Vere Hamilton and Jenny Clothier who will be our new tournament secretary.  The A.G.M. was followed by presentation of trophies for the year's competitions.

On Sunday 5th November the Putaruru Ladies will be hosting the Waikato Champion of Champions.
Everyone is welcome to come and view some good golfing - catering will be available.

Thursday last brought in some good scores - in the men first was Stew Kensington with 43 points, Ross Jellard 42 and Gary Urbahn on count back from Tony FitzHerbert with 40.  In the ladies Cheryl Jones came in first with 43, Bev Macartney with 39 and Norine McPherson with 38 points.

Coming up …
Thursday has Vets, Grayburn Ross Twilight and the first round of the Firestone Business House team’s challenge.  Saturday on course has the Ladies closed Christmas tournament … Good luck and good golfing!


Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC