Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2006.12.13 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive


Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 13 December 2006.

Men's Report
Last week was the week of lunacy, nothing to do with the moon, but where heading towards summer solstice, we try and cram everything into just one week, and all this before the fat red faced man arrives.  And is it my imagination, or has Mrs Apollo kicked the old fella out of the house more often, signalling that summer may arrive eventually.

The golf club AGM came and went, nothing too untoward to report, and there will be a special general meeting early in the new year for some minor housekeeping changes to the rules, most likely opening day, and now we know the rules it should be a formality.

Talking of red faces (from the sun, not the hospitality,) the Wealleans and Hayward Groundspread Christmas tournament was played in resplendent conditions, and boy do they do a great job with their sponsorship.  Thank you, thank you, and thank you.

The nett winners were Joy Aitchison, John Wood and Tony Muller; nett runners up were Margaret Ranger, Ted Ward and Eric Hill.  The gross winners were Louise Wallace, Mike Karl and Warren Craig.  And the first three stableford winners were:- Ladies; Bev Macartney, Irene McIvor and Alison Riley; Division 1; Greg Worth, Hooky Howard and Tony FitzHerbert; Division 2; Tony Edgar, Ross Higginson and Shayne Hill.  The non golfer’s winners were Theo Brus, Paul Wallis and Ian Nelson.

The only piece of gossip not Worth mentioning really, is the air shot had by some rather unlucky person, a male, WaotuarIan (sic.) … but I say too much!

On Saturday, Ron Taylor won the day with 45 points, Adam Sadler 42, Ross Jellard 41, Butch Hamilton and Roger Clothier 40, John Mulholland, Maurice Tricker and Tali Mulafia 39, and Massey Rata, Hooky Howard and Spotty McCarthy 38.

Finally, on behalf of he who is now scratchy, stubbly, and for Sunday 360 degree’s clean shaven, I would like to thank those who sponsored Ross Higginson for the Prostate Cancer fund raising, great cause, and thank you once again.

Grayburn Ross Twilight!
Captain Ding was delighted to see Apollo back on deck on a Thursday, for a change, and Mrs Zeus locked away for twilight.  Captain Ding was a tad jaded, returning from seeing a gay man play piano in Wellington.  Elton rocks and was well worth the effort of going down for the night.  Captain Ding is also delighted to say he is still straight!

Lorraine Smith won the ladies 20 points, Muriel Savage and Louise Wallace 19 and Brenda Buckeridge.  Mark Lawrence took out the golfers section with 23, Ron Taylor 22, Neville Dugan and Massey Rata 21, Vance Carson, Ross Higginson, Shayne Hill, Ricky Turner and Allan Wallace 20.

The winner of the non golfers was Nick Robben 24, Corey Luyton, Daly Makene, Tim McIvor and Paul Strange 22, Jude Brolly, Chance Brown, Ben Cross, Ric Davies, Peter Motion, Vaughan Richmond and Stan Wilson 21.

Firestone Business House
Gang 87 were the bomb on Thursday with maximum points of 63, Midland Scaffolders 62, Team Undecided and Go YT 60, Team Beaver 59 and Famous 5 58.  It was pleasing to see Team Beaver out-play, out-manoeuvre, out-think, out-drive, out-chip and out-putt the D.O.A team.  The Beavers will concede nothing at this stage, and the bet covers this round and next years round, doesn’t it?

Coming up …
Thursday evening is the Grayburn Ross Twilight and the final round of the Firestone Business House team’s challenge, prize giving for the year will be the 21st.  Saturday is the $10 Last Chance Pork n Bacon Mini Tournament … Good luck and good golfing!

Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC