Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2007.03.08 - This Week Press Report

<< Back to Archive

Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in “This Week”
Thursday 8 March 2007.

Men's Report
Saturday was a low key day with just a scramble, but some very good scoring, well actually, you be the judge.  There is a call for random drug testing to become mandatory.

Allan Wallace won division 1 on count back from Maurice Tricker on 44 points, John Mulholland and Walter Morgan 40, Ross Jellard and Lance Hay 38.  Adam Sadler had 46 to win division 2, David Hoyte 45, Lindsay Siegel 44, Kevan Stewart 42, Dieter Drescher and Ken Gallagher 41.

On Sunday the Putaruru Primary School had their annual fundraising tournament.  66 played the day, and while the day produced a grizzly drizzly gray drab damp sort of affair, it did nothing to dampen the spirits or success of it … brilliant!

Louise Wallace and her team did a superb job of organising sponsorship and the prize table, and the team in the kitchen did a fantastic job with the catering … what a great day and it is nice to see it back at the Putaruru Golf Club, another sagacious decision by all concerned.

Winning the ladies nett was Cheryl Jones 70, runner up Shirley Wood 72; stableford winner Fern Taylor on count back from Vere Hamilton 36, Jean Waterworth 32, Gloria Osbourne 31, Jenny Kelsen 30, and Gay Pickrang 28.

The nett winner in division 1 was Richard Wharehoka 68, runner up Tali Mulafia 70; stableford winner Terry Garnett on count back from Peter White 38, Murray Hamilton and Ron Taylor 35, Greg Worth, John Mulholland, Lance Hay and John Waterworth Snr 34, and Walter Morgan and Butch Hamilton 33.

In division 2, Jahrome Brown was the nett winner with an atomic 59, runner up Neville Dugan 64; stableford winner Richard Brown 45, Ricky Turner 41, Graeme Ormsby 40, Robbie Wi 39, John Waterworth Jnr and Brett Worth 37, Brendon Hansen 35, Eric Hill and David Hoyte 34 and Duncan Gallagher 33.

The top three non golfers were Grant Kelsen, Jeremy Jacobsen and Joe Davies.

Firestone Shield Challenge
It’s a two horse race ladies and gentlemen, two old nags have rounded the last corner and are blasting down the home straight separated by a half point nostril hair.  Old timers, the Rum Brothers are being hunted down by Undecided.  It may come down to key absences on Thursday to decide this prestigious trophy.  Is Undecided of two minds under the pressure of the full time whistle whether to go for gold, or will the Rum Brothers do a Cocky Crusaders, and blow it after the fulltime siren has sounded?!

Now, Waotu neighbours are whinging about the racket coming from certain Waotuarian houses, the wailing as DOA’ites return home with the chastisement of another drubbing the teeth of the Beavers.  The last night will see crowing yodel’s by one of these teams, none are particularly known for melodious harmonies … will the dam busting DOA come through, or will the Beavers gnaw through to victory.

Grayburn Ross Twilight Zone
The field was a “wee” bit up from last weeks 69 with 80 enjoying the sensationally sanguine delights of the end of the summer.

Muriel Savage won the ladies with 21 points.  Joy Aitchison 20 and Beryl Garnett 17.  Shayne Hill won the golfers with 24, Daley Makene, Terry Garnett and David O’Brien 22, Ted Ward, Neville Dugan, David Hoyte, Henry Van Dyk and Sean Samkin 21.

Ben Cross won the non golfers with 22, Paul Strange, Lawrence Dixon, Ian Nelson and Chance Brown 21, Richard Van Dyk, Lindsay Strange, Bill Strange and Daniel White 20.

Joy Aitchison, Steve Thorby, Spill Hill and Daley Makene scored two’s for the evening.

Coming up …
Thursday is Vets, the wooden spooner’s muster at 8.45 at the club rooms heading for Western Bays, and there is twilight, the final round of the Firestone Business House Shield.  Saturday is a big day, the Firestone Pork n Bacon mini tournament is on, the first round of Bradshaw matches, round 2 of the Walford Cup, and the shootout begins for the year.  On Sunday the handicap pennants team head off to Waitomo for the first round and the championship pennants team are off to Te Aroha to play te Aroha … Good luck and good golfing!

Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC