Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2007.03.15 - This Week Press Report

<< Back to Archive


Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in “This Week”
Thursday 15 March 2007.

Men's Report
While the wooden spoon is pressing news, this week we start with the side bet that has captivated readers over this season of twilight, could the Beavers do it against DOA?  Well, without bugling the trumpets from the heights of Zion, just quietly, the Beavers brutalised DOA, who butchered their last gasp effort to blast open the Beaver dam stronghold.  Full credit to DOA and all that, but the Beavers rock!

Now to the real news, there was a Worthwhile muster that headed off to Western Bays for the first wooden spoon outing for the year.  The course was greeted with mixed reviews; suffice to say that Stew Kensington thought it was great scoring 46 points, Ron Taylor 41, Tony Edgar and Kivu Coroer 39.

The winner of the wooden spoon has now joined the illustrious company of Captain Ding as a two time winner at the same course.  For what’s its Worth, Captain Ding had to be reminded that he has won the spoon twice at Putaruru.

But while we digress; it is Worth noting that the spoon has returned to Waotu, and Ian Worth with 28 points has now won the spoon twice at Western Bays, but only twice there and nowhere else, now how's that for getting your money’s Worth.  And is it true that the spoon has started its usual rotation of rural dwelling out at Waotu district, it does seem to be out of town an awful lot.

The locals Vets played Matamata on Friday in the second round of the Vets Pennant.  Putaruru still retain second spot behind Walton, with Mangakino 3rd, Tokoroa, Tirau B, Matamata and Tirau A making the rest of the rankings.  Maurice Tricker and Hooky Howard were the best on the day with nett 71’s.

The Putaruru championship pennants team lost 3-6 to Te Aroha on Sunday, playing them on their home track.  Wins went to Greg Worth and Mike Karl in the foursomes, and John Anderson and Butch Hamilton in the singles.  Was there a hint that the Tokoroa caddy was to blame for bringing down Putaruru’s number 1, or was that chewing gum on the shoe, PK me thinks?  And dear old Greg Worth, shot 73 playing the number 3 position, great round, and certainly the best of our boys in the afternoon, only to lose to some clown playing out of his skin!  The result was not fully unexpected, but there was a hint of a chance until the back nine in the afternoon.  The Dunes are still the team to beat it seems.

The Firestone Pork n Bacon tournament was played on Saturday with 50 in the field.  Alison Riley won the ladies nett with 69, Heather Howard the stableford with 39 points.  The division 1 nett winner was Ron Taylor 66, runner up John Mulholland 68.  Captain Ding won the stableford with 41, yes ladies and gentlemen, that is not a misprint!  Barry Wallace was second on count back from Tony FitzHerbert 40, King Shanly 39, Ross Jellard, Massey Rata, John Wood, and Hooky Howard 38. 

Shayne Hill won the monthly medal and division 2 nett with 63, runner up Tony Edgar 67.  Robbie Wi won the stableford with 42, Henry Van Dyk 41, Rex Fisher and Steve Thorby 40, Kyle Savage and Adam Sadler 39, Dieter Drescher and Spotty McCarthy 38.

Firestone Shield Challenge
And the winner … will be announced at the prize giving tonight.  The Rum Brothers and Undecided have been locked in a death struggle over the last few weeks with only half a point separating them and what I can now tell you is that the margined has widened.  Was there a hint of a balls up on Thursday?  The night’s results saw Undecided and Running Late take out maximum points, 63 each, Flintstones, Rum Brothers and “Beavers” 62, and the Layers after a sustained hiatus 61.

Grayburn Ross Twilight Zone
We had 74 scores but only 60 paid entries, ah well it’s the end of a long season.  Muriel Savage won the ladies with 23, Fern Taylor 19 and Jenny Smith 17.

Shayne Hill won the golfers with 26 points, John McPherson, Kyle Savage and Allan McCarthy 23, Brian Curd and George Dixon 21, Robbie Wi, Daniel Van Dyk and Mark Lawrence 20.

In the non golfers Mark Nicholl had 26, Douglas Ward 25, Ian Nelson, Lawrence Dixon and Smiley Alexander 23, David Bidois and Ben Cross 22, Chance Brown and Kevin Hoebergen 21.

Ladies – 6th of March 2007
Just briefly, the results were:- 1st Shirley Wood & Jenny Kelsen (70 nett), 2nd Louise Wallace & Vere Hamilton 71, 3rd Cheryl Jones & Margaret Ranger on count back 72, 4th Joy Aitchison & Raewyn Hoole 72, 5th Norine McPherson & Jenny Smith 72.5

9 Holes “Hate Em”; 1st Carole Furlong 43 nett, 2nd Dulcie McLean 44, 3rd Ethne Dodd 45.

Twos were scored by Joy Aitchison & Raewyn Hoole.

Coming up …
Thursday has the Putaruru Super Liquor Midweek Tournament, and the final prize giving night for the year for twilight, ambrose is the format.  Saturday is second round of Bradshaw matches and Walford Cup round 3.  On Sunday the Prebble Cup team head off to Stewart Alexander for their first round match and the championship pennants team are off to Morrinsville to play Stewart Alexander … Good luck and good golfing!


Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC