Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2007.04.18 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive


Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 18 April 2007.

Van Dyks Classic
It is like a family reunion, as the same old faces return each year to enjoy the clubs premier tournament.  Henry and Sheryl Van Dyk, on behalf of Van Dyk Furnishers, have again outdone themselves with a fabulous prize table, spoiling the 52 couples or 104 golfers in the field.

The weather turned out to be a lot better than what was forecast as the thermals were being discarded during Saturday’s play.  The course was presented in superb condition by Ron Hunt and his band of helpers.

The winners of the Van Dyk Furnishers Cup were Dominic Morris and Cushla Arbuckle from Kawhia playing off 4 and 18 handicaps respectively.  They played Greg Worth and Jean Holster in a final that went to the 18th.  After 2 wayward drives by the men, the ladies recovered to leave the men with 2 very testing green side chips.  The men then completed 2 very tasty chips to about 4 and 10 feet from the pin, and it was then that Cushla Arbuckle holed out to seal the victory.  The consolation winners were John Wilson and Deb Dickie from Taupo.

The division 2 winners were Ross and Florence Jellard, beating Allan and Louise Wallace in the final, while the consolation winners were Tali Mulafia and Gaye Pickrang.  In division 3 the winners were Don and Alison Riley winning over Steve Thorby and Gloria Osbourne, the consolation winners Duncan Gallagher and Denise Lindley.

In division 4 the winners were Butch and Vere Hamilton who beat John Wood and Shirley Wood in the final, the consolation winners Stephen and Dawn Rumney from Tirau.  The division 5 winners were David Hoyte and Jenny Smith who beat Jock and Kate McLean from Auckland, the consolation winner Massey Rata and Fern Taylor.

Winning division 6 were Brian Curd and Willetta Staheli who beat Les & Elayne O’Leary, while the consolation winners were Shayne Hill and Nancye McRae.  Finally, the winners of division 7 Tony and Heather Edgar, 2nd Spotty McCarthy and Maureen Shanly, and 3rd Ron Hunt and Phyllis Tatana.

The shootout winner of the brand new Fisher and Paykel washing machine by 8 inches was Louise Wallace, who edged out Florence Jellard, and a further 5 inches back was Butch Hamilton.

Captain Ding has a few thank you’s, to Van Dyk Furnishers for their sponsorship, to Sheryl Van Dyk for the superb job on the prize table, to Ron Hunt and his helpers for the presentation of the course, to Terry Garnett, Neville Dugan and Roger Clothier for helping run the tournament, to Gladys and Graham Crickett and helpers for the great job in the kitchen, and to Marie and Danielle Worth for running the bar.

You may have noticed that there are no aWards today, although Ted Ward was commended during the Van Dyk prize giving for all his efforts around the club rooms and golf course.
Ladies Report
10 April 2007 was Club Trophy Qualifying, with a big field.  The scramble winners were 1st Irene Orr with a 68 nett, 2nd Elayne O'Leary with a 71 nett on a count back from Raewyn Hoole.  In the 9 Hole Stableford Round 1 1st was Lynette Bennett on 18, 2nd Elizabeth Howland 17 & 3rd Carol Furlong 16.  Alison Riley scored the only two for the day on the 8th.

Coming up …
Thursday has no Vets … and Saturday is the 3rd round of the Radd Cup, monthly medal, Captains Trophy and shootout … Good luck and good golfing!


Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC