Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2007.05.31 - This Week Press Report

<< Back to Archive


Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in “This Week”
Thursday 31 May 2007.

Men's Report
The biggest news for quite a long time came on Sunday, when the Putaruru reign as Prebble Cup holders came to an end.  Putaruru lost in the quarter final round to eventual winners Kawhia.  Kawhia played Waihi in the final and demolished them 9.5 to 2.5, a real old fashioned thrashing.

There was a quiet guard from Putaruru to witness the end of this era of history, but the reign of Putaruru as Prebble Cup holders for the last 2 years will be fondly remembered by most.  Remember when Putaruru beat Tirau at Te Aroha in the second final to win the cup for the first time way back in 2005.

Recall the drama as the first final at Pirongia ended in a draw in both matches and games, which for the first time in the history of the Prebble Cup demanded a replay.

And then to 2006, where Putaruru played Tahuna at Paeroa, and where the matches played all through that year were relatively tight results, including the final.

Each year the cup goes up for grabs, and it is not a case of defending the trophy, you have to win it each year … not that easy of a task.  So well done to Kawhia, and well done to the Putaruru teams and players for the last 3 years

Also played at Putaruru on Sunday was the final of the Tolich Trophy between Tahuna and Hukanui.  In a lot tighter match, Tahuna squeaked in with a 7 to 5 winning margin.

Interestingly enough, and you hear a lot in the men’s room while they do “stuff,” the comments from the Waihi team and supporters were very similar to those expressed when Putaruru lost to Kawhia in the quarters.

A big vote of thanks to Ron Hunt and his helpers for the presentation of the course for this very prestigious Waikato event.

Going back in time to Saturdays scramble, John Barr won division 1 on count back with 40 points, Ian Worth and Adam Sadler 40, Ted Ward 38, Tony Edgar 37 and Ross Jellard 36.

In division 2 Wayne Mudford whipped the field with 44 points, Andrew Muller, Tony Muller and Rex Fisher 42, David Hoyte 39 and Les O’Leary 38.

Two’s were scored by Adam Sadler on the 3rd, Ron Taylor on the 8th and King Shanly on the 10th.

Further back to the dark times, on Tuesday the wooden spooner’s had a very enjoyable day at Kawerau.  Dieter Drescher won the day with 44 points, Spotty McCarthy and Tony Muller 39, Roger Clothier, Russell Burman and Terry Garnett 38.  By the way, Captain Ding won the spoon with 20 points, David Hoyte had 24 very relaxed points, because he was marking Captain Dum’s card!

So it was, from hero to zero, from champ to chump, from the former glory of Titan TTT Trophy winning exploits to exploits better left for sewerage treatment.

And in total unabashed amazement were those that had lost to Captain Dung throughout the TTT, Terry Garnett and Ross Higginson, Ross Jellard and Sean Samkin, Allan Wallace and Tommy Houston, and Tony Edgar and Eric Hill.  Only two were not on hand to witness this jaw dropping feat by Captain Dingy at Kawerau.

Captain Ding felt the writing on the wall as early as, not Tuesday, but the 17th and 18th holes on Saturday, where after securing the 4/2 win in the TTT, Captain Dipstick finished double bogey and triple bogey to destroy another good card.  Ah well, the lord giveth, and the lord taketh away … Captain Ding’s trophy cabinet runneth over!

And so much for great promises last week of Captain Ding not hogging the limelight or press space!

Ladies report
Although the day was overcast and drizzling, 50 ladies enjoyed the interclub exchange at Putaruru with Tokoroa and the Mount last Monday.  There was great camaraderie among the ladies and the laughter and companionship in the club house afterwards created a wonderful atmosphere.

Putaruru won the trophy from the Mount.  Only 2 two’s were scored by Kahu Winikerei and Jean Holster, both from Tokoroa.  Five ladies shared the top score of 34 stableford – Shirley Wood, Neroli Fisher, Helen Minnell (Tokoroa), Margaret Ranger and Louise Wallace.

Results from play in the Patrons Trophy on 22 May were as follows – 0-25 Handicap; 1st Joy Aitchison 74 nett, 2nd Florence Jellard 75, 3rd Denise Hunt 76.  In 26 to 40; 1st Shirley Wood 70 nett, 2nd Heather Edgar 72, 3rd Jeanette Burton 73 and in the 9 holers – 1st Lynette Bennett 39 nett on count back from Sue Urbahn, 3rd Ethne Dodd 40.

Vets Report
The Vets have qualified for the Vets Pennant final at Morrinsville along with Tokoroa from this zone.  The final lead was substantial (50ish) but inconsequential for the finals, as all teams will start again, the best performing team on the day will win the Waikato pennant for 2007 … good luck to the oldies!

Coming up …
Thursday is Vets, while Saturday and Monday have Queens Birthday scrambles … Good luck and good golfing!

Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC