Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2007.07.11 - SWN Press Report

<< Back to Archive


Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in the South Waikato News Wednesday 11 July 2007.

Men's Report
The final of the Lithgow Trophy between Ted Ward and John Barr was played in fine conditions on Saturday.  The match was supposedly a foregone conclusion, unless Ted Ward faltered, but Captain Ding jests.

Three birdies on the front nine by John Barr on the 6th, 7th and 9th were required to keep Ted Ward at bay, but set up only a tight 1 up lead at the turn.  Ted Ward squared the match twice more on the back nine, before going 1 down after the 14th, and then the match tensely limped home with closely contested, but halved holes.

There was a question of where the nearest point of relief should be taken when a ball lies on the wrong green, the 9th green in this instance.  This was only raised after the players had walked off the 18th green by some mischievous observer, but as the match had already been decided, John Barr was proclaimed the winner.

This would have to conclude one of the great come backs in local golfing history, where after 2 or so decades away from the top level of the game, John has allayed the demons and returned with his first ever monthly medal win last month, and now a famous victory in the Lithgow over one of Putaruru’s toughest campaigners, in Ted Ward.

The first round of the Stratson Cup was also played in conjunction with the Firestone Pork n Bacon Tournament.  The first round leaders are Brett Makene and Richie Brown both tied on +6 each on bogey.

Firestone Pork n Bacon Tournament
55 played in the field, a good muster on the first dry’ish Saturday in a fair old while.

The ladies nett winner with 76 was Jenny Kelsen, runner up Cheryl Jones 78.  The bogey winner was Yvonne Parry from Waipukurau -4, runner up Louise Wallace -6.

The division 1 nett winner was Richie Brown 65, runner up John Wood 71.  The bogey winner was King Shanly +3, Paul Graham +1, Brad Karl, John Mulholland, John Barr, Massey Rata, Allan Wallace and Phil Kensington all square.

In division 2, the nett winner was Brett Makene 65, runner up Daley Makene 70.  The bogey winner was Nev Dugan +3, Peter Smith and Roger Clothier +1, Wayne Mudford, Neil Sinclair and Dieter Drescher all square, Tony Edgar, Steven Thorby and Don Riley -1.

The only two for the day was scored by the colourfully effervescent King Shanly on the humongous 8th.

Only 18 ladies braved the elements last Tuesday to play in Round 3 of the Uden and Lithgow Trophies.  Although there was only one shower early on, the rounds were finished in sunshine.

Results were as follows, Uden Trophy, 0-30 division, 1st Heather Howard 72 nett, 2nd Margaret Ranger 73, 3rd Denise Hunt 74.  A two was scored by Irene McIvor on the 8th.

Lithgow Trophy, 31-54 division, 1st Heather Edgar 76 nett, followed by Audrey Mathis on 80.

9 holers Stableford competition, 1st Lynette Bennett 12 on count back from D Bartlett, 3rd Gillian Robbins 11.

Coming up …
Thursday is Vets, and on Saturday we have the round 2 of the Stratson bogey competition … Good luck and good golfing!

Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC