Loading Menu Bar...
If menu bar fails to load, please refresh your browser.
Article :: 2007.12.13 - This Week Press Report

<< Back to Archive



 Putaruru Golf Club Report for Insertion in “This Week”
Thursday 13 December 2007.

Wealleans Christmas Tournament
Spiffingly spectacular is how the Wealleans Tournament went off with 120 odd golfers, some of whom were normal, enjoying the hospitality of Wealleans courtesy of Gavin Wealleans and Mac McKinnon.

The nett winners were Jeanette Burton, Butch Hamilton and Spotty McCarthy with runners up Marie Way, Lauchie Phillips and Neil Rist.

The gross winners Shannon Pawhau, Greg Worth and Peter Smith, while the top stableford winners were Jenny Smith, Terry Garnett and John Mathis.  The best of the non golfers were Phil McGlashan follow by Ben Cross.

Two’s were scored by Greg Worth, P McFarlane, Warren Craig, Geoff Hyde, Ted Ward, Warren Long and Ken Gallagher who got 2 two’s!

This was a terrifically special end to a highly successful Christmas tournament season for the year with over 360 entries over the open, closed and Wealleans tournaments.  Thank you again to Wealleans for their sponsorship and hospitality.

Saturday Scramble
The startling news for the day was that the ex captain won a prize based on the merits of his golfing prowess.  It was last prize admittedly, but hey, for 38 points on count back, the ex captain is not complaining.

First in division 1 was Maurice Tricker with 44 points, Butch Hamilton 40, Tali Mulafia 39 and Ding on count back with 38.  In division 2, Peter Smith won with 45, Tony FitzHerbert 44, Tony Muller and Tony Edgar 43 and a consolation prize to Dieter Drescher on 41.

Two’s were score by Maurice Tricker on the par 4 17th, Eric Hill and Dieter Drescher on the 10th.

Finally the wooden spoon will be draped around some poor unfortunate wretch’s neck as you read this ... the break-up of the spoon day was played on Tuesday.  All will be revealed in next week’s This Week report.  The ex Captain refuses to speculate which person from Waotu could win the spoon, although it could very well leave the rural belt for a long overdue stint over summer in the urban belt.

Bells Twilight
Interest and entries plummeted along with the barometer as only 42 braved the contrite clammy conditions. 

Fern Taylor won the Lady competition being the only lady!  Kyle Savage snotted the golfers division with 25 points followed by Neil Rist and Vance Carson 23, Ron Taylor 22, Jahrome Brown, David Hoyte, Spotty McCarthy, Robbie Wi and Stan Wilson all 20.

The non golfer’s winner was Matt Corrin 24, Ben Cross and Smiley Alexander 23, Bennie Savage junior and Graeme Benge 22 and Dougie Ward 19.

The MacDaddies top score with 63 in the teams section, followed by Undecided and Rum Brothers tied on 60, Beavers and DOA treacherously tied on 59 and Tirau Earthmovers (1) and (2) tied on 57.

Two’s were scored on the 3rd by Jahrome Brown and Massey Rata, and Ron Taylor on the par 4 17th.

Coming up …
This Thursday has Bells Twilight, and on Saturday we have a scramble … Good luck and good golfing!

Copyright © 2019 | All Rights Reserved | PGC